Who we are ...

ALE-HSA21 has been developed merging the biological background of the Human Genetics Disease Laboratory at IGB lead by Prof. Ciccodicola Alfredo and coordinated by Dr. Costa Valerio, with the computational competency of the IAC group coordinated by Dr. Angelini Claudia. Since 2007, the IGB team has been studying, from a genetic perspective, the trisomy of chromosome 21, the genetic cause of Down syndrome. Both research groups tightly collaborate to data analysis of RNA-Seq experiments (whole transcriptome), performed by the Next Generation Sequencing (NGS).
The IAC team is expert in developing highly advanced mathematical, statistical and computational methods to solve problems having an high impact on applications in a mainly multidisciplinary framework and it is also expert in software, database and website implementation.
Both research teams are actively participating to the CNR Interomics Flagship Project and are MC members of the COST-Action: “Next Generation Sequencing Data Analysis Network” connecting researchers working in the field of NGS at a European level.

The research group

"Human Genetic Disease Laboratory" at Institute of Genetics and Biophysics "A. Buzzati-Traverso" (IGB), CNR, Naples, Italy

Ambrosio Maria Rosaria   PhD student in Oncology and Molecular Endocrinology
University of Naples “FEDERICO II”, Naples, Italy
mariarosaria.ambrosio@igb.cnr.it
Aprile Marianna   PhD student in Cellular and Molecular Biotechnology
"Second University of Naples" (SUN), Naples, Italy
marianna.aprile@igb.cnr.it
Aversa Rosanna PhD student in Cellular and Molecular Biotechnology
"Second University of Naples" (SUN), Naples, Italy
rosanna.aversa@igb.cnr.it
Ciccodicola Alfredo   Principal Investigator of the InterOmics IGB Unit and Professor of Genetics at the University of Naples "Parthenope", Naples, Italy alfredo.ciccodicola@igb.cnr.it
Costa Valerio   PostDoc at IGB-CNR and Teaching Assistant at the University of Naples "Parthenope", Naples, Italy valerio.costa@igb.cnr.it
Esposito Roberta PhD Student in System Biology
University of Salerno "Hyppocratica Civitas", Salerno, Italy
roberta.esposito@igb.cnr.it
Scarpato Margherita PhD student in Advanced Biology
University of Naples “FEDERICO II”, Naples, Italy
margherita.scarpato@igb.cnr.it

"Laboratory of Statistics & Bioinformatics" at Istituto per le Applicazioni del Calcolo "Mauro Picone" (IAC),CNR, Naples, Italy

Angelini Claudia   Principal Investigator of the InterOmics IAC Unit c.angelini@iac.cnr.it
Evangelista Daniela   PhD in Computational Biology  
"Second University of Naples" (SUN), Naples, Italy
d.evangelista@na.iac.cnr.it